More info: Mevagissey is a picturesque village on the south-western coast of Cornwall, near St. Austell, St. Ewe, and Gorran.
Mevagissey is still a working harbour with some fishing boats but it was once the centre of Cornwall’s pilchard fishery. Many of the old buildings, constructed of cob and slate, bear testimony to a time when the large shoals of pilchards provided the livelihood of the whole village. Mevagissey was one of the first places in the UK to have street lighting using pilchard oil to generate the power.
Named after two Irish saints, St Meva and St Issey, the village of Mevagissey dates back to at least 1313 and a medieval quay was first established in 1430. Mevagissey has a tradition of boat building dating back to 1745.
Mevagissey Harbour Trustees have owned and managed the port since 1774. In 1988 the Trust became a charity and Mevagissey is now one of only three such Trust Ports in the country.